moonfone.blogg.se

Nodexl for mac download
Nodexl for mac download











  1. #Nodexl for mac download for mac os x#
  2. #Nodexl for mac download mac os x#
  3. #Nodexl for mac download install#
  4. #Nodexl for mac download free#

Some networks are dense single clusters with few if any “isolates”. So these brands form broadcast networks, not communities. But these many lack much connection to one another. Some networks are highly populated but sparse, these are often the networks that form around brands where a central account tweets and is retweeted by many. These two cluster networks have two well defined populations who lack much if any connection across the divide to the “other” side. I look at these images and look for differences in the number of big clusters: some images have a “double yolk” – that I propose is a necessary (but not necessarily sufficient) condition of defining a topic to be “controversial”. You can find a collection of them on flickr. Using NodeXL, I have made several maps of social media networks of people talking about several topics of interest from current events to conferences I attend. I am coming to understand what is interesting in any particular network visualization by looking at many network visualizations. If you want the small option, you have to use the 32-bit AMI, which is right above the one he picked. Just remember to really turn off the instance if you do not want to pay a recurring fee! You have to actually _Terminate_ the instance to avoid paying fees shutting it down isn’t enough.Īlso note that the AMI Adam used in the video was a 64-bit one, which doesn’t have a “small” option, it jumps straight from micro to large.

nodexl for mac download

This is both a bug and a feature – the system runs no matter the state of the computer you use to access it. You can then access this image, which runs continuously until you Terminate it – even when you close computer you use to remote desktop.

#Nodexl for mac download install#

micro instance of an Amazon EC2 Windows system.įollowing each step will lead you to the creation of your own virtual machine into which you can install Office and NodeXL.

nodexl for mac download

Recently Adam Fields, my colleague at Morningside-Analytics did me the great favor of recording the process of creating a new. Of course, if you turn the instance off when you are not using it, Amazon does not charge anything. small instance is merely $0.13/hour or $3.12/day and offers much faster responses. For those who need a more speedy response or to handle larger data sets, Amazon is happy to sell more powerful instances of Windows for modestly more pennies per hour.

#Nodexl for mac download mac os x#

This system can be a bit slow, it responds a bit like a NetBook, but it does not slow down my Mac OS X instance and can be reached from any machine with the Remote Desktop client and internet access.

#Nodexl for mac download for mac os x#

I then use the Microsoft Remote Desktop Client for Mac OS X to get a window into the remote virtual instance. micro instance of Windows XP and Office 2010 and installed NodeXL. Recently, I discovered that Amazon EC2 offers a remarkable way to have my cake and eat it too: I created a modestly powered. When I travel I usually just have my Mac laptop and miss having a zippy version of NodeXL at hand. So I mostly focus on NodeXL on a Windows machine.

nodexl for mac download

If you focus on JUST NodeXL in the VM it works well, but context switching is too demanding. My Mac session slows to a crawl, my Windows session is slow, and the overall usability of the system degrades too much. I am always amazed that it works at all.īut I try to avoid doing this as the main way I run NodeXL at almost any cost. It’s pretty neat to see Windows inside the Mac OS window. In these virtual machines I can run Windows and Office and then NodeXL.

#Nodexl for mac download free#

I can run Windows very nicely using various Virtual Machine products like VMWare’s Fusion or the free and open VirtualBox.













Nodexl for mac download